Install Issues: K2 Studio

• 14 January 2016
  • 8 replies

Badge +5

Hello.

I am relatively new to K2 and have only had some interface training (Intro, SmartForms).  My current employer has K2 installed on 3 servers (done by consultants). I need to be able to have K2 Studio configured on my machine to access any of these servers.

I ran the 'K2 blackpearl' installer,  selected client tools, selected K2 Blackpeal Server, K2 workspace, K2 for visual studio core, k2 studio, and required components.

Installed pre-reqs, and ran into issues with selecting how to connect (K2 Server Database).  I tried both windows authentication and sql..with sql authentication, i tried with and without the domain name.

I have tried looking thru here and some of the help articles. Any pointers or ideas of what could be wrong or if I am going about this the wrong way? 

10987i6DE20109F4004B60.png

8 replies

Badge +9

You don't really need to install any server components on your local machine if you want to connect to the existing environment.

As for your SQL server, do you have SQL Management Studio or some application that you can try connecting to that server to see if you can login?  You might want to login to check to make sure the DB is called "K2".  Also make sure you're installing the same version of blackpearl as what is installed on the servers.

Badge +4

Hi  @Cgreenhouse,

So to confirm, even while using Windows Authentication, when you click next, the wizard will not let you continue? And there server name listed is correct and you have admin rights across the board?

Badge +5

Thank you Victoria & Muffin Man for getting back to me so quickly, really appreciate it!

Victoria: Myself and coworker connected via odbc data source to see if we could connect to the SQL server with the credentials we had and the connection was sucessful - so we have the correct database name, login, etc.