Query User Profile - Alternative action?

• 30 March 2017
  • 7 replies

Badge +3

Hi!  Is there an alternative to the "Query User Profile" if you don't have access to that action?

7 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +15

Hi Patricia -

It depends on what you're looking for.

For example, if you're looking to find the email or display name, you could just use the "Set Variable" options. I think that would work.

What do you need to do?

Cheers,

Rhia

Badge +3

Hi Rhia - yes, I'm looking to find the users identified as reviewers and approvers in a column, this information feeds into a state machine to start either a review or an approval workflow.  I hope that makes sense, I'm very new to this!!!

Thanks for getting back to me!

Tricia

Userlevel 7
Badge +17

Do you need to get into these user UserProfile data? For example using "Web request" action to call REST API?

Regards,

Tomasz

Userlevel 6
Badge +15

Alright! So, let me get the idea here:

Somewhere, you have a list - there is a reviewer column, and an approver column.

In the reviewer column might be "Rhia", and in the approver column, "Patricia".

In your workflow state machine, it sounds like you want to:

a) look at the name sent to it

b) query the list columns to see if the user is a REVIEWER or an APPROVER

c) take action based on that.

Is that right?

Or are you looking to perform some other action?

Badge +3

Yes!  Have attached screenshots of the template workflow I'm working on.  Perhaps I'm just complicating things and it's better to have separate review and approval workflows?  The intention is to have, for the review cycle "no comments" and "comments submitted" by those identified in the Reviewer column of the document library.  For the approval cycle, "approved" or "rejected with comments", with the end result being either resubmission or the document checked in and status changed to "approved".

Userlevel 6
Badge +15

I think one workflow will work fine for this, from what I can see.