cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

List lookup control in repeating section only saves item ID

Jump to solution

Hi all. This is my first post - hope you don't mind if I start with a query. I am not really a developer, so apologies in advance if any of my terminology isn't quite right.

I have a repeating section in one of my Nintex forms. Within that repeating section is a list lookup control that pulls in values from a column in an external list. The external column is of the 'single line of text' type.

The lookup works just fine when I am inputting data into the form - the data from the external column is displayed in full exactly how I want.

However, when I save the form and check the XML output from the repeating section, I notice that only the item ID is saved - not the data from the column itself.

Here is an example of the XML I am getting:

<WPLookup type="System.String">4</WPLookup>

That number 4 is the item ID of the value I want to look up, not the value itself. The value of that field is a string "WP40 - Painting Pete". Any idea how I can get the string and not just the item ID?

All info gratefully received

Labels: (2)
10 Replies
Workflow Hero

Re: List lookup control in repeating section only saves item ID

Jump to solution

You have several possibilities :

• the easiest one : you can add a field in your repeating section to display the value of the selected item in the lookup field using a calculated value which formula uses the lookup function