Is that possible to query workflow variables in a task form in Request Data Action?

Badge +3

I know infopath form can both receive data from and submit data to Sharepoint , but is that possible to do both in a single request data action? Or if we can do both in a workflow action by editing task form?

It is like something that I want the receivers can look up data from sharepoint while they are required to input data to update somewhere else in Sharepoin.

I have tried to add a "receive data source" in the task form. But even adding data source itself cause error when I am trying to open the task form after I got "input require" notification. Is that because the request data action limits the function of the infopath task form

193808_pastedImage_2.png

193809_pastedImage_5.png

11 replies

Badge +11

Hi Eden,

afaik this should be possible. Did you try to look up the correlation id in the ULS log?

Badge +3

No…I don't know what it is=_=

I am actually new to workflow…

So it is that about settings in the workflow or infopath?And it is not limited by the action itself?

Badge +3

Hello Lucas

I can not find uls log in my local disk, I think it is because my account is not admin account for the server and I can not start that...

So is it really possible to edit receive data in a request data action? probably by the way of managing data connections in the infopath? I am just making sure I am not going to the wrong direction,

Badge +11

What you are trying to achieve should be possible. Afaik there are no limitations on InfoPath Data Connections when using it as a request data form. So you should be on the right track.

Can you maybe share the configuration of your data connection from infopath? Additionally you can maybe try to contact an administrator to have a look at the ULS logs for you?

Badge +3