cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Not applicable

How to use Execute SQL action to send an int value

Jump to solution

I'm new to the nintex workflow game but I have a good amount of SQL experience. Currently I am trying to use a nintex workflow to create a row in a SQL table. Here is the statement I am trying to use.

Insert into Opportunities(OrgCompany, OrgGlobalPractice, OpportunityName, OpportunityLaborHours, OpportunityStart, OpportunityEnd)

values ('{WorkflowVariable:Co}', '{WorkflowVariable:GP}', '{ItemPropertySmiley Tongueroject_x0020_Name}', cast('{ItemPropertySmiley SurprisedpportunityHours}' AS int), '{ItemPropertySmiley Frustratedtart_x0020_Date}', '{ItemProperty:End_x0020_Date}')

I'm currently getting this error every time I try to run it using the run now feature of nintex designer.

The execution returned an unexpected error.

Conversion failed when converting the varchar value '{ItemPropertySmiley SurprisedpportunityHours}' to data type int.

Whether I use convert, cast, or just send the value I get the same error. The column is a calculated value but it's still a number that is retrieved. I've used the log in history list to see what value is output and it is a number. I'm sure I'm just missing something small but I've been working on this for several days now and have not been able to get anything to work.

Thank you for your help,

Daniel L Davis

0 Kudos
8 Replies
mmatsako
Nintex Newbie

Re: How to use Execute SQL action to send an int value

Jump to solution

Are you able to change the DB column to type varchar?   If so, then no conversion would be needed and most likely it'll update properly.  I see this whenever there is a type mismatch between sql and workflow.

0 Kudos
Not applicable

Jump to solution

I am not unfortunately. Is it not possible to send an int with a nintex workflow? I have some ideas of work arounds if that is the case but wanted to be sure the was the answer.

Thanks,

Daniel