How to parse xml from a nested repeating section

• 14 December 2020
  • 3 replies

Hi

I've been trying different ways to parse xml from a repeating section that is within a repeating section but I've hit a wall. I've posted the full xml as jpg and the actions and their details as a word file with screenshots. Sorry if that is not how you're supposed to do it I'm new to this.

Anyway I followed this solution from here but to no avail:

https://community.nintex.com/t5/Nintex-for-SharePoint/Get-data-out-of-Nested-Repeating-Section-and-HTML/m-p/97283

3 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +9

There's no other way than replacing all the encoded characters with their non-encoded characters actually.
You can use a replace string to do that :

• & --> & (do this first)

• > --> >

• &lt; --> <

• &quot; --> "

• etc.

It is a pain to do it, but you cannot use xmldecode, which does not exists.

Userlevel 6
Badge +12

Hi, you should be able to parse the nested repeating section but might have to run the fn-xmlDecode function a few times.  Can you please upload your XML as text rather than an image?  We'll give it a go with your exact XML.

Userlevel 6
Badge +12

I had a bit of spare time so I tried to recreate your form - this is a good example of managing repeating sections within repeating sections so hopefully a good resource for many people.  The key is the repeating sections are stored as XML but some manipulation is needed to get the XML that you need.  I must say, this posed an additional fun challenge in trying to read the XML you provided which is in Norwegian or Danish (I couldn't figure out which).  Read on!

I constructed a form that would provide an output very similar to yours except I didn't include your third repeating section, RS_Kommunikation as it would be a repeat of the example provided below.