Passing data to a child process in an IPC

• 31 March 2008
  • 6 replies
  • 1 view

Badge +3

Hi

I have looked around the forums and can't find anything that tells me this. Maybe it's too easy and everyone else already knows but I'm a complete newbie to K2 and struggling.

I have a workflow for purchase orders. The Purchase order lines are stored in a smart object with 4 fields aginst each line.

When the process is started I give it a purchase order number, the IPC then starts a child process for each row in the SmartObject that has the PO number given. This is a synchronous process using the 'plan per slot (no destinations)' option.

However I need to pass the child process the four values from the SmartObject about the partictilar PO Line that the child process is dealing with. I then need to call upon those values in a server event through c# code.

Any help much appreciated

Thanks in advance

Rich

6 replies

Badge +3

I hope I'm understanding what you're asking.  I assume you're using the second option "Select a list field to determine how many slots should be created."  When you do this, make sure to return the ID field of your order lines SmartObject.  You can then do one of two things on your IPC event Process Field Mapping:  1.  assign the Activity Destination Instance --> Instance Data (which should show up as ActivityInstanceDestinationData when you add it) to an ID field in your child process and then get your four fields from your SmartObject from within your child process or 2. assign your four fields from your SmartObject directly in your mapping.  I would lean towards the first option as I think it's cleaner.  Let me know if this helps.

Badge +3

Hi Paul, Thanks for your reply.