cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
anilk
Nintex Newbie

How to Auto Populate Text Box controls with Look Up column value Selection

Jump to solution

Hi All, I am new to Nintex . We designed a SharePoint list and we are planning to use Nintex Form as UI for this list. User Selects one of the value in list Look Up column (which is populated out from the another Master List.) On the same Nintex Form we have some another editable Text Box Controls which we want to Auto Populate using the Master List column values or erase the content from Text boxes based on the selected value. Ex: Select Existing Employee Id in the Look up column then Populate First Name, Middle Name, Last Name. If User selects "New" then just clear the above 3 columns. Its an Urgent requirement any help will be highly appreciated here.

Labels: (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
jesse_mchargue
Nintex Employee
Nintex Employee

Re: How to Auto Populate Text Box controls with Look Up column value Selection

Jump to solution

@anilk - 

You can accomplish this using a calculated value control setting each control by leveraging the runtime function lookup() in your formula. If the First Name, Middle Name, and Last Name are all in the Master List, it would look something like this:

First Name control: lookup(“Master List”, “ListColumn_Employee Id”, FormControl_Employee Id, “First Name”)

The lookup function is broken down like so:

• "Master List" - list you are looking up the data from
  • "ListColumn_Employee Id" - list column to filter on
  • FormControl_Employee Id - value to filter on
  • "First Name" - list column to return

You would also need to connect the calculated value controls back to a SharePoint list column if you wish to commit the data to SharePoint.

Hope this helps!

0 Kudos
anilk
Nintex Newbie

Jump to solution

Jesse,

Quick question.