cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How can I compare the input in a Nintex Forms field to already existing items in the same list?

Jump to solution

So, I'm completely new to Nintex / SharePoint related stuff.

I would like to compare the user input in a Nintex Forms field to already existing items in the same list.

Maybe my example will make it somehow clearly.

In a contact list, I got the column 'company name'.

When a user tries to create a new contact, and puts the company name 'Smith' in the field, I'd like the field to check the contents of the column 'company name', wheter the company name already exists or not.

Note: The user should still be able to create the contact, it should just be a reminder / note that this company name is already in the list.

While browsing the net, I figured that i might have to use JavaScript (which I don't know...)

Any help or tips are appreciated.

Greetings

Labels: (2)
Tags (1)
8 Replies
Workflow Hero

Re: How can I compare the input in a Nintex Forms field to already existing items in the same list?

Jump to solution

This can be achieved without even touching JavaScript. Follow the steps below to implement the validation:

For my scenario, I have two lists - "Test" as my main list and "Customer" as the customer list. The scenario works the same way with a single list. Just adjust the formula accordingly.

Scenario

When I type a customer name in the Title field of my Test list form, the calculated value field is supposed to show me a message highlighting that the customer already exists.

Solution

1. Open the form you want to customise in Nintex Forms designer
  2. Drop a Calculated value control onto the form. We will use it to display a message saying that the customer already exists in the list
    2014-08-07_11-16-00.png