Solved

Click Button to add current user object to person or group field

• 10 January 2017
  • 5 replies

Badge +4

Hello!

I am creating an event sign up form through Nintex Forms for Office 365 / Sharepoint Online. My issue is that I want to make a sign up button that a user can click when viewing the form and it will populate the attendees field (person / group column; accepts multiple) with a user object like in the picture below.

197542_pastedImage_1.png

Is there a quick and easy way to do this in javascript or in field settings? I do want it to show as an person object as it will then be saved back to the Attendees column as a person and not just a text of the user's display name.

*Edit* I don't want to this to be on load, the end user will be viewing the form and deciding if they want to join this event or not. **

Any ideas? I'm fairly new to Nintex / Office 365 / Sharepoint Online, feel free to correct me if I'm going about things the wrong way.

Thanks,

-Trang

icon

Best answer by tphan 20 March 2017, 18:52

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +15

I have a question .. why would you need to add their name to this at all? What if, instead, there's a checkbox that says "I want to attend!" and when that checkbox = true, it adds "Current User" into whatever field you need it in?

It just seems strange to me to display it like this instead of having a standard "I want to attend!" checkbox.

Otherwise, it would basically be an onClick event I suppose! I'll wait for you to strike down my previous idea...

Badge +4

‌, Thanks for the response!

I'd love if it I was the designer behind how the functionality worked here but it was requirement from my end user. I've worked out a solution through workflow, though I was trying to avoid having to use it in the first place.