Does publishing a workflows a new version on production for a workflow will stop its previous running instances of that workflow?
Solved! Go to Solution.
Running workflows are not affected by publishing a new version.
totally agree with Manfred.
Saving a Workflow means creating a draft-Version. This Version does not affect any items until you publish it. Saving creates a minor version.
Publishing a Workflow means all new instances work under the new behaviour. Publishing creates a major version.
Only major version are used to run a workflow.
Example: A simple Workflow with a "Write to log" - Action:
Version 1.0 "Hello World" (publish)
Version 1.1 Changes (save)
Version 1.2 Changes (save)
Version 1.3 Changes (save)
==> All Workflows have the Version 1.0 behaviour.
Version 2.0 Changes (publish)
==> All old Workflow-Instances are running under the Version 1.0 behaviour.
==> All new Workflow-Instances are running under the Version 2.0 behaviour
you will be able to see when you view workflow history against items whether the previous version is running as it will state (previous version xxx) next to the workflow name