Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
awu09
Nintex Newbie

Configuring a button action with Javascript

Jump to solution

Hi all,

I am quite new to Nintex and have a question regarding a Javascript action that should be executed when a certain button in my Nintex Form has been clicked.The goal of the Javascript action is to start a child workflow that terminates the main workflow which is running on the current item.

I tried looking for solutions in the community, but as I have never used Javascript I do not understand any of the scripts and I would not even now where to insert them.

What I tried to do now is to create a single line of text column called "Terminate WF?" with the default value "No". As my child workflow will start once this column contains the string "Yes", I just need the button to turn the "No" into a "Yes" when it is clicked.  I tried configuring this with the control settings of the button:2019-06-28 10_08_18-Nintex Forms Designer - PreReleaseRequests - dsPreReleaseRequest.png

This was just my first try, I assume that putting the same commands in "Client Click" and "Value Returned" won't work, but I also have trouble to understand what these Actions would do in my specific case. All the button does right now is refreshing the page when it is clicked.

Is there anyone who could help me with this?

Thank you,

Alexander

Labels: (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Automation Master
Automation Master

Re: Configuring a button action with Javascript

Jump to solution

Hi Alexander,

if you only need your "Terminate WF?" column to say "No" on button click i think you can empty the "Client click" field and simply enter "Yes" inside the "Value returned" field of your button settings. Depending on the type of your "Terminate WF?" column you may have to enter another value as "Yes" might not work for a yes/no field (not sure about that). You could try to enter true or 1 instead.

Cheers

Philipp

awu09
Nintex Newbie

Jump to solution

Hi Philipp,