Use multiple document form libraries in the same process

• 6 December 2005
  • 3 replies

Badge +2
Hi,

I'm quite new in K2.NET and I have a problem with Infopath Process Wizard/Infopath activities that I cannot solve.

The problem:
We would like to use multiple infopath forms with multiple form document libraries (in Sharepoint) in the same K2.NET process.

I mean we have some forms for a request process. The process contains the following steps:
- Requester has to fill in the first form (view/1)
- Requester's manager has to review and approve the request (view/2)
- Another person (involved in the process by a field of the approval form) needs to fill in _another_ form.

Well, each form can be found in other document form libraries in Sharepoint and has different views, so merging Form1 and Form2 and create some other views on the merged form is unfortunataly not an option.

How can we do this?

thank in advance,
matyas

ps: sorry for my English. :)

3 replies

Badge +9
Hi Matyas

No problem on the English. Integration with InfoPath only allows one form with one process at this point of time. Some of the reasons for this are that the process instance relies heavily on the XML of the specific document, different forms will have different schemas and that will cause things to break. The other problem is that the process makes use of data field values that determines the location of document to be stored, working with multiple docs in multiple document libraries is not possible as the wizard configuration assumes specific data fields to be used, running the wizard for form1 and then for form2 will overwrite the settings specified for form1.

In summary: InfoPath integration has a One to One relationship between form and process
Badge +2
Hi RĂ©nier,

Thank you for the answer. Well, its quite bad news for us, but I guess there is a workaround for the problem. So please read this below and tell me if you found any mistake in the idea: