Detect when user has edited a form field

• 15 October 2020
  • 7 replies

Badge +1

Hello All,

I am very new to Nintex (and SharePoint for that matter). I have a form that a user would fill out for a travel request. However there are 60+ fields the user can add data to, such as Airline, rental car, hotel stays and many many more...

My question is: Once the request has been made and an approver has requested the user to update some field for whatever reason, how can I use the workflow to detect that the user has actually made a change to any one of the fields of the form, not just editing the form and clicking save to update the modified date.

Thank you

7 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +22

Hi,

Not sure if this helps but you could have a conditional start workflow that starts if a previous value does not equal the current value.  60 conditions is a lot but it might be possible.

9259i1355279E245F605D.png

Badge +7
Hi,

As I understand you correctly, you want to be able to verify for each field if the user has updated a field, if this is requested by the approver? That would be a major task to accomplish via a workflow, since you don't know what field needs to be update.

I would suggest to enrich the 'Appoval'-task with comments and add those comments inside the form (e.g. a Comments History field). When the user receives the rejected form, he/she can see the comments made by the approver. Then the requester re-submits the form, the approval can then check whether or not the appropriate changes are made.
Badge +1
I agree 60+ conditions is a lot, but it is what we're working with :-). Is it possible to grab all form values at once in the workflow and create a comparison between initial form values and modified form values? I feel like I could use a UDA with your approach above but one major limitation that creates is any future forms we create would need their own specific UDA for capturing and comparing form data.