Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Not applicable

Best way to pause a workflow

Jump to solution

Hi,

I'm new to Nintex and somewhat new to workflows. I'm working on a workflow that I need to pause until:

1. Either two fields (Assigned Owner and Classification) are filled out correctly (i.e. Assigned Owner is not blank and Classification is not equal to "Not Classified"). If this condition is met before the Discussion Due Date, I'd like the workflow branch to continue without regard to the Discussion Due Date.

2. The Discussion Due Date has passed and either one or both of the two fields (Assigned Owner and Classification) are not filled out correctly, then I want the workflow to stop.

Any ideas on the best way to do this?  Right now, I'm just pausing the workflow until the Discussion Due Date and then checking the fields with parallel run-if's to see if the conditions have been met before proceeding with the workflow. I don't really want to do that. If someone completes the information before the due date, I want the workflow to start up and continue.

Thanks!

Labels: (2)
0 Kudos
22 Replies
Highlighted
Automation Master
Automation Master

Re: Best way to pause a workflow

Jump to solution

There's a couple ways you could do this, but I'll mention two of the most popular actions to use in this sort of scenario:

1) Loop action:   simply put a condition inside of your loop to continually check for the conditions that you described earlier.  Exit the loop when the conditions are met and take whichever branch you need thereafter depending on the values.   A loop is restricted by the safe looping mechanism so it'll pause 5 minutes before each iteration after the first.  This is good because it won't take up too many resources.