Am I using IPC correctly? If so, how can I pass the InfoPath XML Schema to it?

• 12 August 2014
  • 2 replies

Badge +9

This is my first time using an IPC event and just want to ensure I am using it correctly because I'm having some difficulty getting it to work.

I am attempting to use many Word Document Events to create a Word document version of my form and then convert that to a PDF.  This needs to happen in almost every step of my workflow.  So everytime there is a user action in the workflow I need to run all the steps again to update the PDF.  I thought it would be best to make the whole conversion part a separate workflow, that way I can just use an IPC event in the main workflow instead of repeating the steps every time.

Does that make sense?

If so, that's a relief because it made perfect sense to me *lol*

But then the question is how can I pass the XML schema of my InfoPath form to this process?  I understand the fields have to exist in the new process and there's a screen to assign them, but because it's an XML schema it's a bit unclear.  Do I just manually create all the fields?  How will the new process know which are repeatable?  Is there some easy way to copy & paste the schema to create the fields automatically?

Thanks

2 replies

Badge +9

I took a peak at the K2 blackpearl book from 2009 and found the following:

"Due to the fact that the child process is a completely autonomous process, the IPC Event should not be used for creating reusable process modules.  The child process must represent a business process within the organization that operates almost independently from the parent business process."

That tells me what I am attempting to do is not ideal for an IPC Event.  I understand why but I don't understand how else I could achieve what I want to then.  Can anybody chime in?

I'm also still having issues getting the InfoPath XML schema to pass into the child process :(

Badge +8