Append value from dropdown control to text field input

• 14 January 2017
  • 9 replies

Badge +3

I have a form with 15 Measurement input fields (text) plus a single dropdown Measurement unit (choice) containing measurement units (mm, cm, dm, m etc).

The user first selects the desired Measurement unit value, then inputs a measurement result in a Measurement field. On changing focus to the next field, the currently selected value in the Measurement unit field should be appended to the first field's contents.

How can this be achieved using Javascript?

9 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

try following

NWF.FormFiller.Events.RegisterAfterReady(function() {
   NWF$('#'+varMeas1).focusout(function(){
       this.value += NWF$('#'+varMeasUnit).val();
   })
})

varMeas1 and varMeasUnit are javascript variables assigned to respective controls

Badge +3

Dear Marian, thanks very much, even on paper this looks very much like the solution I needed!

As I'm not a developer, can I ask you for some more help in getting this to work? My questions:

1) Where do I put the script? Do I copy it as-is or does it need further markup?
UPDATE: I got it working by putting it in Form settings/Advanced/Custom Javascript, so the location/markup question is answered I think.
However, it is not appending the text of the selected item in the dropdown, but instead, a number - which I believe is the index of the item in the dropdown list. What do I need to change to get it to append the text instead of the index #?

2) How do I change the script so that it works for all 15 measurement fields? Your code now works for only a single control (ID = varMeas1).

Your help is very much appreciated! Kind regards, Robert

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

I got it working by putting it in Form settings/Advanced/Custom Javascript

yes, that's correct place.

it is not appending the text of the selected item in the dropdown, but instead, a number