Asynchron programatically access

• 15 February 2007
  • 7 replies
  • 1 view

Badge +2
Hi

I have some people from K2 here with me, and have asked the same question to them.
They suggest to solve the problem by messagequeue. Where my system process add a message to the queue when the event occurs, and the K2 workflow waits and listenes to the queue.

I will now try this and report back how this works.

Arne

7 replies

Badge +2
I'm new to the K2.Net, but I have created a few sucessfull processes.

Now I need to make a process that is started programatically, and all steps are solved programatically by updating a status field in the process.

I'm using K2ROM to access the process, but I have a concern. Since I'm only using programaticaly access I do not have any destination rule, I'm also unsure of witch event to use. (I have selected the Defaul Client )

so my pseudocode solution is:

//start the workflow
Connection conn = new Connection();
conn.Open("nokrs01app10");
ProcessInstance proc = conn.CreateProcessInstance("PorteringDanmark");
proc.DataFields["msisdn"].Value = message.Msisdn;
proc.DataFields["newmsisdn"].Value = message.NewMsisdn;
conn.StartProcessInstance(proc);
peristentstore = proc.ID;

Here I will store the pro
after some processing i want my application to do the following

Connection conn = new Connection();
ProcessInstance proc = conn.OpenProcessInstance(persistenstore);
//something like this
proc.Datafields["Status"] = "Created"
proc.update() //process should move to next step.

Any ideas on how to solve this?

Arne
Badge +9
Below is an excerpt from a document (with code sample) I wrote describing how to do essentially the same thing but betwen Activities (as opposed to from the Start Process) within an ASP.NET page. I think you should be able to easily leverage this in your situation where you are using the StartProcessInstance() method...