Form Button Javascript

• 1 September 2016
  • 11 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +10

Hi Folks,

I am still learning Nintex Forms. On a button click, I would like to have the click fill out a couple of fields on the form. I want a date field to show the current date and I want a text field to show the current user's display name. Does anyone know how this is done?

190570_pastedImage_1.png

Thanks and Regards,

Patrick Kelligan

11 replies

Badge +11

Hi, Patrick Kelligan,

See the references here:

Setting current date and time on control

Nintex Forms - Querying User Profiles - Vadim Tabakman

Using Vadim's blog, you just need to return the current user name in the text field. So you would need a small piece of that script. Let us know if you need more details.

Userlevel 4
Badge +10

Hi Kapil Joshi‌ and thanks for the response.

Regarding Vadim's post, his is not exactly what I am looking for as I want to program a button to leverage the "Current User" reference (if this is possible) and his solution is dependent on loading JS libraries to gather profile data on form load. That may end up being a sort of workaround if I cannot get this button to do what I want but it is not quite what I am looking for.

Regarding the "Setting current date and time on control" post, it looks a little more hopeful but, as I was trying to emulate it on my form, I ran into the issue I posted about here. I cannot get the variable to load in the "Client ID JavaScript variable name" field in the control configuration. Any idea why this will not work?

Badge +11

Hi Patrick,

Here is an easier way to populate current user. See the screen below.

Choose Javascript button and add the function showName(). In the text box field, add the Client ID Javascript variable MyName. Here is the code to populate the text box. Add this to Custom Javascript in Settings.

function showName()
{
//alert("hello");
NWF$('#'+ MyName).val("Current User");
}