Need help with Dynamic Destinations

• 24 July 2007
  • 6 replies

Badge +3

I'm new to K2 and I'm trying to decide on the right approach for dynamic assignment of destinations in my workflow. 

Here's the situation:  I have work that needs to be reviewed by different users based on the state(s) (i.e. Illinois, Ohio) that the work relates to.  Multiple people are responsible for multiple states (i.e. Jim handles Illinois and Texas and John handles Ohio and also helps with Illinois) and these assignments may change over time. 

This leads me toward using Queues and defining groups that map states to users. However it doesn't seem clean to create 50 Active Directory Groups.  I've researched creating our own version of the SQL User Manager, but it seems like you then lose the nice integrated security which scares me if we want to integrate easily with Sharepoint.  So I'm left thinking that I need to write custom code in the event for the action to look up groups from my own tables and add destinations.

I'd appreciate any feedback on the best approach to this problem. 

Thanks.

6 replies

Badge +13

So you only need 1 slot per state approval and you have multiple destinations for each state (Jim, John).   Depends on how many users you have, you could probably get away of using String Tables to store the members if you don't want to deal with external table & lookup.

Name string value   NJ_USER1 with value JIM's domain/ID (if you have multiple domains), then NJ_USER2 with value John's ID.   In the destination rule you could use try catch and NJ_USER & iloop to increment one by one.  

This method doesn't give you the best view on how many states a specific person is handling, but you could query the K2 table on string table to sort it if you needed to. 

Badge +13

You don't need to create 50 active directory groups if you assign the person explicitly. (but you do lose the dynamic changes, which I don't think happens often in your case?)