Separate notification to initiator if they are also the approver

• 11 October 2016
  • 7 replies

Badge +2

I'm still pretty new to Nintex forms and workflow, but I'm managing to muddle my way through ok.  I'm stuck on something though.  We have an access request form that any user can submit for approval.  This means that our approvers can submit them also.  I'd like to have one notification of submission go to the initiator if they aren't an approver, and another (different) if the initiator IS the approver.  I cannot for the life of me get this to work.  I tried setting a condition where "created by" did not equal "authorized signer" (neither received a notification), but that didn't work.  I've searched and searched for a similar question, but I couldn't find anything that's worked.  Is there anyone who can point me in the right direction on this one?  I feel like this should be fairly easy, but I'm embarrassingly stumped.

Thanks so much!

7 replies

Badge +11

Hi ,

I'm using similar action in my workflow using Set a condition action. See below:

Both Approver and Decider are people picker fields. If this condition is true, send one notification. If false, then send individual notifications. Hope this helps.

Badge +2

Hi ‌,

That's exactly what I've tried and it's still not working.  No notification goes at all. I've tried the following: Created by = Authorized Signer; Initiator = Authorized signer; App Created By = Authorized signer.  Neither of the notifications go at all, but all of the subsequent actions work just fine.  I've even changed the condition to "If current item field equals value"  where Authorized signer = Initiator.  I'm SO confused as to what I'm doing wrong.

Badge +11

Please paste the screen shot of your workflow and configuration part. Is Authorized signer a people picker? Log the Authorized signer and Created By to the history list and see the values for both of them. they should be with the claims token if you are on SP2013.

Badge +2