Working with Convert Value in SharePoint List

• 7 December 2018
  • 1 reply

Badge

I am a SharePoint Designer/Administrator and I am really new to creating Workflows and using Nintex. I am working my way through the Nintex training and I am stuck. The project rental application in the Nintex for SharePoint Training requests that my solution must do the following:

• Solution must change the selected floor choice from a string to a number value

In the Rental Agreement project there is a field on the form where the user selects either Floor 1, Floor 2 or Floor 3. I am supposed to convert those responses to be number 1, 2 or 3 using configure action. Despite watching about 3 videos and reading what I can find I am coming up blank on how to make a choice option field with multiple choices become a number based off what is submitted by the user.

Convert Value gives input screen which I understand is the value to be interpreted but when I just put in the FloorNumber from the Insert Properties, Item Contents it failed.

The error is: Error parsing value. Value 'Floor 3' is not compatible with the selected output variable type Number (double).

I hope that there is someone that can give me some input on how to use Convert Value in this manner.

Any input here would be greatly appreciated.

1 reply

Badge +1

I'm in the same position, facing the same issue, and a little stunned that there have been no responses in almost a year.  I'm guessing you figured this out, but for the benefit of anyone else who may be baning their heads against a wall, these are my findings.