Javascript to set a checkbox to true by button click

• 10 July 2018
  • 9 replies

Badge +3

I need to create a button that will set a hidden checkbox field to true and then submit the form. I'm not a coder, but dally with javascript occasionally. I've searched everywhere for pre-existing code to do the task I am attempting, but can't find anything. I saw some posts about UNchecking radio buttons using javascript and I tried to modify it to make it work with the checkbox, but no go. Below is the code I tried:

NWF$('document').ready(function(){var strBeginReviewValue = NWF$('#'varBeginReviewID).find("input:checkbox:not(:checked)").val();NWF$('#'varBeginReviewID).find('input[value=''strBeginReviewValue'']').attr('checked', true);});

varBeginReviewID is the javascript ID for my checkbox. I placed this code in the client click field of the button. It does not set the checkbox to checked. The code above also does not submit the form. If anyone can help me get the button to do both the checking of the checkbox and submitting the form, it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Chris

9 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

if you want the checkbox always checked, wouldn't it be easier to set its default value to checked?

you wouldn't need any javascript then

Badge +3

Hi Marian,

No, the use case is this:

The "Begin Review" checkbox is a trigger to start a review process workflow. Rather than have the user check a box and then click save, I want them to click a button which sets the Begin Review checkbox to true/yes, saves and closes the form and starts the workflow.

For some reason, you can set a button to send a value to single line of text, number and choice fields, but not to a checkbox. Seems like that ought to be a simple thing to do, so not sure why Nintex didn't include it as a field type to which you can send a value (true/false, 0/1, yes/no).