How to validate a SmartForm Textbox for required input

• 27 January 2015
  • 5 replies

Badge +3

I'm a newbie and struggling with something that is probably easy if you know what your doing.  I've searched for this question in this forum and Google and not finding the answer in a way that I can understand what I need to do.

My question is how do I validate that a required field has input in a SmartForm Textbox?

It appears that I need to set up a validation pattern to check for required input and then set up a rule for The Form Passes Validation.  I'm just unsure how to set up the validation pattern to check for required input.

When I click on the textbox, there is the section for Validation that has 3 options:  Max Length, Pattern, and Message.  I assume I click on the Patten to add a pattern for required input.  But I'm not understanding how to do that.  Can someone point me in the right direction?  With a pretty specific example.

Thanks for your help.

5 replies

Badge +8

Hello,

By saying "required input" I am assuming you mean that the field cannot be null. If that is what you mean you can create a rule stating that the control must contain a value. Do you have a button of somesort that is used to transfer data? An example would be adding rules to the button control stating that if the text box control has a value than submit the form, if not than show a message to the user which you could customize dipicting the fact that the text box needs to have a value.

Does this help?

Thanks!

Matt

Badge +3

Sorry, I could have asked the question better.  I'm using creating this SmartForm to perform CRUD (Create,Read,Update,Delete) functions on a SQL table.  There is a ListView of the existing data in the table.