Nintex workflow delegation on Fridays only

• 1 February 2018
  • 5 replies

Badge +1

Hi All,

I'm new to Nintex workflows and was wondering if there is a way to create a delegation task on a list workflow to enable delegation every Friday? I'm using Nintex Workflow 2013.  

My workflow is a standard approval workflow, requiring each new item to be actioned once it has been approved. Each time a new item is added to the list (and the item is approved) the workflow is sent to a colleague to action. However, this colleague does not work on Fridays, so the workflow needs to be delegated to someone else where a new item is approved on a Friday.

Can anyone help please?

Thanks,

Gwendoline

5 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

it sounds me the best option for this would be if a user configured automatic delegation of his tasks in his sharepoint profile.

this way you wouldn't need to change workflow at all, and user could manage delegation of his tasks on his own, even for other absences.

if you want to manage delegation with workflow, there are several possibilities, but there as well several aspects to consider which are not clear from your description, eg.

- should the delegation take place just for task being created/assigned on Fridays? if so, before you assign task you could check whether current day is Friday or not , and then assign task either to user or his deputy.

- or you could assign tasks to a group of users instead of single designated users. On Mo - Thu designated user would take care of tasks, on the others some other group member.

- if the delegation should take place as well for existing and/or long running tasks, you could create a site workflow a schedule it to run on Fridays. within the workflow you would determine by a given rules what user(s) and what task(s) need to be delegated and act accordingly.

and so on. other scenarios are possible, but we would need need to know more details of your business case.

Badge +1

Hi Marian,