SharePoint list item read/view permission

Badge +2

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Nintex permission side, I am sorry if question is too dump.

I have nintex workflow 2013 running on list when Item is getting edited. In workflow I am changing the permission of person who created it to 'Read Permission'.

When the user who created item, tries to 'VIEW ITEM' he is getting error 'Sorry, you don't have access to this page' and if same user is trying to edit same item, he is able to open item make changes and save it successfully.

It is really weird the same item to the same user is able to open in edit view but not in view item view. 

I really appreciate if someone guide me or give me some tips.

Thank you.

11 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

this shouldn't happen.

can you post configuration of set permissions action?

some overview of your overall workflow would be helpful as well to understand when/in what circumstances set permission action is executed.

Badge +2

But its happening.

I tried another thing is, I created another workflow which have only one action which is 'Set item permissions'. Using this action I am setting permission to 'created by' user.

I tried below permissions:

1. Read --- User is still not able to read it.
  2. Restricted Read --- User is still unable to view item in view mode.
  3. Edit --- User is able to open item in edit mode BUT not in view mode.
  4. Full Control --- User is able to open item in edit mode BUT not in view mode.

Just to let you know, when user open item in Edit/view mode. Item opens in Nintex form. I want to know, In Nintex form can we configure it to not to open in view mode?

Badge +2

Sorry couldn't upload action configuration in previous post. As I set I have only one action 'Set Item Permissions':

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Set item permission configuration

Userlevel 5