Not applicable

Nintex Workflow Hangs on State Machine

Jump to solution

Hello:

I am new to using Nintex.  We have a Workflow that hangs on a State machine and does not fully execute.  Any ideas to resolve this issue?  Thanks.

33 Replies
Not applicable

Re: Nintex Workflow Hangs on State Machine

Jump to solution

Which version of SharePoint are you in? we used to see this issue a lot in SharePoint 2007 when the SharePoint Workflow Timer was not very reliable. SP 1 for SharePoint seemed to fix it for most people. Maybe check the timer service.

Not applicable

Jump to solution

Hello Rob:

Thanks for responding.  We are using SharePoint 2013.  I will suggest checking the Workflow Timer Service.  Thanks.

Not applicable

Jump to solution

Hi Lorna,

The State Machine action contains a hidden Delay, so checking the Workflow Timer Service is absolutely the best place to go.

Please also ensure that one of your states contains an End State, otherwise the State will continue forever.

For testing, you could turn off “Enforce safe looping workflows” in the Nintex Workflow Global Settings in SharePoint Central Administration, if it is enabled. After that, peform an IISRESET and republish your workflow. Start a new instance and the workflow will run without any delays so you can test the functionality.    It is ‘Enforce safe looping’ that adds a hidden delay. This is to stop badly designed endless loops (and state machines) with no sleeps from using up all the system resources.

I hope this helps!

Not applicable

Jump to solution

Hello Laura:

Thanks for taking the time to respond to my issue.  I will provide your detailed suggestion to my developer.  Have a great day.  Thanks.

thurjs35
Nintex Newbie

Jump to solution

We had a similar issue where anytime you renamed the State Machine from something other than the default it would hang.  It turned out we hadn't upgraded our database to the latest release.  Once we did that it fixed the issue.

Not applicable