Report reminder email when due date is <=7 days away

Badge +2

Hello everyone and happy 4th if you are in the states!

Complete workflow newbie in need of some assistance. We have SharePoint 2013 and Nintex Workflow designer 2013. I have some programming experience from school, so I’m familiar with the basic concepts at play here like for loops, if then else, variables etc. I know my way around SharePoint for the most part, I’d say I’m not quite intermediate level but getting closer every day so I didn’t think this would be terribly difficult but I’m having some trouble wrapping my head around structuring this.

We have a custom list that is used to track reports, who is responsible for generating/sending them, when they are due, and when the report was in-fact submitted by an employee.

My boss has asked if it is possible to build a workflow or two to generate some reminders about when reports are due. These reminders would be generated based on two criteria:

• When any report in the list is <=7 days away from the due date, email responsible staff (single email sent per report due).
  • Every 1st of month generate a single email with a list of all reports due that month and send to all responsible staff that have a report coming up listed in the email (hope that makes sense).

This is where I’m at with trying to build the first workflow:

1) Using a List Query, go through the entire list filtering for anything WITH a due date set and WITHOUT a submission date set. Any row where this is true the workflow should gather the following information from the row:

(These are all columns in the list)

-Report Title

-Responsible staff

-Due Date

I store each of these in their own collection variables, output from the list lookup query I managed to build. Could I possibly do it with one variable and still easily parse the data?