Not applicable

I am new to Nintex

Jump to solution

I am brand new to Nintex workflows, but very experienced with SharePoint and SP Designer workflows.  I need to create a WF that adds rows to a list based on a  Name field and a number field.  The number field indicates how many rows, with the name field, to add to the list.  Is this possible?

Thanks.

Ben

0 Kudos
13 Replies
fccrous
Workflow Veteran

Re: I am new to Nintex

Jump to solution

Hi Ben,

This is possible.  I will use a Loop action with a counter integer (and add 1 every loop) and compare the counter integer to the Number field until you reach the number.   Inside the loop action I will use a Create new Item Action which will then create a new item for each loop with the name field.

Let me know if I need to expand on the explanation.

rszabo
Nintex Newbie

Jump to solution
Not applicable

Jump to solution

Hi, Fccrous,

Thanks. I will give it a try.

Ben

Not applicable

Jump to solution

Thanks for the information.

Not applicable

Jump to solution

I think I will need further elaboration.

I created 2 test lists:  Alpha Test List and Beta Test List.  This, in a simplistic way recreates two actual data-bearing lists I have elsewhere.  The Alpha Test List has two fields: 'Title', a plain text field and  'Quantity', a number field with no decimals.

Beta Test List has one field called 'Title' which I would like to store the multiple row entries indicated by 'Quantity' field in the Alpha Test List. When someone saves a new form in Alpha Test List the workflow automatically starts and writes the extra rows to the Beta Test List.

So I started out by adding a condition:

If current item field equal value

Where Created

Is greater than or equal to

Value  checked checkbox that states: "Use date when action is executed.

Not sure this is the best place to start.

I am not sure how to tell the loop to use the Quantity field info.

That's where I am at now.

Thanks.

Ben

fccrous
Workflow Veteran