Transferring Context Between Infopath Form

• 9 February 2008
  • 9 replies

Badge +2

For simplicity of form configuration, I want to write separate forms for each view (rather than multiple views in a form).  Here's an example of what I'm trying to achieve:

1. User creates a "payment request" via a smartobject using Infopath Form1.  This should create a wok item and start a workflow.

2. Another user gets notified and opens the item.  That would open another form (which lives in another form library) called "approve payment request".

The problem is...how does the second form have the context (the key that I need) to pull in the data via my smartobjects?    I feel like in the documentation it gives a hint that it's through smartObject events or associations, and I saw a trainer do something with XML fields in the Visual Studio designer, but I've not been able to put the pieces together, so I need a step-by-step.  (this is my first project with Blackpearl and unfortunately it's due Monday.  Help, please!

-alex

9 replies

Badge +7

Hi Alex,

Having done something very similar to yourself I think I can lend a hand.

1. Design your smartobject so that it contains a primary key autonumber
  2. Create the Load, and Save methods for your smartobject
  3. On your first form, when you save your data from your InfoPath controls to your smartobject, use the submit rules to store the returned autonumber as a hidden field on your InfoPath form
  4. Using the _K2 data source added when you use the infopath integration wizard, you can also store the ProcessID and ActivityID in your smartobject
  5. In your workflow, you now know you can get the autonumber (from form XML), ProcessID and ActivityID from the _K2 datasource on form 2
  6. I usually archive the form (to a SharePoint library), and set some form metadata to contain the autonumber also