Solved

Hide Show Rules for Panels

• 21 July 2021
  • 5 replies

Badge +3

I recently inherited a form where their panel rules are not working. I am not a rule expert and was hoping for some assistance. 

I need the panel to show whether the form is "In Process" or it is "Approved". 

The current rule is:

not({ItemProperty:Approved}==True) || not({ItemProperty:CompApproval}="In Process")

If I separate the two into different panels the rule works but when I have them together it doesnt work. 

Not sure why the OR statement is not registering. Any help would be much appreciated. 

icon

Best answer by bgarvey 22 July 2021, 17:11

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +8

try:
and({ItemProperty:Approved}!=True, {ItemProperty:CompApproval}!="In Process")
your pipes are producing an "or" statement. For rules you have to think in the negative. In your scenario if both of them are true, you want it to hide the panel.

Setting the logic in separate Rules is equivalent to using an "and" statement.

In your formula, if either one of the statement is true, the panel will be hidden.  What you want is for them both to be true (hence the and) for the panel to be hidden.

Since you say you are new to rules, here are a few tips:

value a == value b is the same as equals(value a, value b)

value a != value b is the same as not(equals(value a, value b))

the and & or functions only allow evalutating two items such as and(value a!= "", value a!="value b") - to extend you must nest like and(and(value a!= "", value a!="value b"), value c!="")