Not applicable

Help with workflow design

I am a beginner and have the following scenario: User enters information into form and an approval email is sent. The approver approves data entered and a notification is sent to the manager. At some point after this, more data will be entered by someone else (not the manager) and submitted. Another notification is sent out. At a later time more data is entered and then another email is sent out.

I am fine up until point where the notification is sent the first time. How would the workflow wait and then resume after the next submit and the submit after that? Would I use more than one workflow or just one?

I looked into the conditional but what happens if a value is entered into the field I am looking for and then is later changed before the submit occurs?

I looked into the Run If but it doesn't appear to be what I need since it doesn't wait for the condition to be true.

Thank you,

Bryan

Tags (1)
15 Replies
cassymfreeman

Re: Help with workflow design

so the first time around you want to get approval and notify the manager - is that on item insert?  you could have this approval workflow run on item creation automatically.

you could have a secondary workflow that sends notification when item is updated.

would that work?

cassymfreeman

maybe updated where status = approved?

melissac
Rookie

After the manager approves it the first time does more information need to be entered for that particular item. or is the new information being entered new?

You could kick off a WF on the first item it gets either approved or rejected if approved it goes into a pending state. when additional information is entered then a second wf is kicked off. and so on

Not applicable

After the manager approves it then new information will be entered at a later time. I just don't know when or who will enter it. I will look into changing the state based on the approval. Will the WF stay in that state until the next information is saved?