Building Nintex Workflow in Sharepoint 2013

Badge +2

Hello, I am relatively new to Nintex and trying to get some help on the right approach/best practice for building a workflow using Nintex workflow for a list created using Sharepoint 2013.

Workflow process: Determined by 2 variables

1. Saved or submit for approval - set up as drop down field (not sure if this is the best approach)
    1. Choosing saved does not trigger workflow
    2. Choosing submit for approval starts workflow based on value (see #2)
    3. User gets email notification
  2. Value
    1. Below a certain value routes to one approver
    2. Above a certain value routes to a different approver
    3. Approver gets email notification

Desired outcome:

1. User should be able to submit a saved record for approval, thereby starting the workflow
  2. If an approver rejects a record, it should go back to the user who can make changes and resubmit for approval

I was able to build workflows using run if statements that fulfilled both requirements. The challenge I had was either submitted a saved record for approval or rejecting a record. In both cases, the workflow wouldn't restart.

Any guidance or suggestions would be much appreciated.  I also tried using state machine but with no success.  Thanks much.

Thomas

16 replies

Badge +16

OK so you need some starting conditions as follows:

Start on item creation conditional on status = Submitted:

Start on item modified conditional where status = Submitted and old status <> Submitted (i.e. a previously saved record has been submitted):

Badge +16

OK for the second part.  inside your workflow have a set a condition to check the value is what you need it to be - in this example I was checking was >= 100.  if it was I set the approver to you, and if not I set the approver to me (using a person type variable vPersApprover):

Then I use a state machine to move between approval and rejection as required: