How do I embed a workflow URL variable into the HTML of my notification?

• 17 June 2016
  • 5 replies

Badge +7

Hi! I've been using Nintex for about 6 months and am even greener at HTML.

My workflow generates a task. The user uploads their findings as an attachment to the task and completes it. My workflow then uses the Call Web Service action in conjunction with a Query XML action and Build String action (to replace the spaces with %20) to get the URL of the task attachment. This URL ends up in a text variable called attachmentsURL_text. I end up with a splendid URL that works only when I insert the variable into the body of the notification. When I try to embed it into HTML, it doesn't work. You know, "click here to view the attachment" rather than some gangly URL.

My HTML:

<div>Click <span id="NWRTEReference1"><a class="ms-rtestate-write" contenteditable="false" onclick="selectThis(this);" href="javascript:void(0);" reftext="here" link="true" reflink="%7BWorkflowVariable%3AattachmentsURL_text%7D" link="false" style="text-decoration: underline; color: blue">here</a></span> to view the attachment.<br/>

Even though it shouldn't matter, I've tried replacing the code with the symbols (a { instead of %7B ) and, but that still doesn't work. I've also checked and unchecked the "Parse for tokens twice" in my Build String action and that didn't make a difference.

Here is a sample of what my URL looks like when I use the variable in the body of the notification:

http://test-company/sites/workflow/reviewsite/Lists/Workflow%20Tasks/Attachments/552/5th%20Item.docx

Any help would be appreciated.

5 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +9

Andrea Pasutti​, I just dropped your html into a "Send Notification" and it worked fine.  Can you provide some screen shots of your workflow and what you're seeing?

Badge +7

CORRECTION: This is the screen shot with the correct code. When I hover my mouse over the embedded variable that comes in my email, this is what it says: