Not applicable

Automated rename document and upload to library

Hi,

I am new to Nintex workflow sharepoint 2010. I need to know how to do to following.

I have an invoice which is approved, once approved I want this invoice to have the same invoice number and in front the wording "Approved", and the new invoice to be uploaded onto Library folder which I have created for history/monitoring record.

For example, i have the invoice which number is 1XA and attached onto the List, once the approver reviews (workflow) the invoice and approves, then I want the workflow to rename the attachment invoice as "Approved 1XA" and this invoice to be uploaded automatically into the folder in the Library. I will appreciate your help and to clearly specify the steps to be used.

Regards,

Daniel

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Not applicable

Re: Automated rename document and upload to library

Hi,

I'm not an expert but I'll try to at least point you in the right direction.

I'm assuming that information from a list is the source of the information for the invoice.

A workflow on the list will create a document  in a document library. You will need to have the same columns as the list for data to be migrated and the document to open.

The invoice should be a template for the document library that its' stored in and have "quick parts" referencing information columns for the document. The document library should have columns for the "invoice number", Status i.e. "Approved, Not Approved etc..." Please note that IE 64 Bit is a bit of a pain so use  IE32 Bit and upload the document in docx and not doct. I have found a few problems with editing the template in dotx format.

In the template you need to insert quick parts for the columns i.e. Approved and the updated invoice number.

A workflow can then assign or generate an invoice number if the column for "Invoice Number" is "single line of text" based on a few References and a fixed number.