GetDomains method returns null value

• 14 November 2006
  • 4 replies

Badge +1
object reference not found exception message is thrown when i attempt to invoke GetDomains method.

Here is the code im using:

public string getDomainNames()
{
K2Manager myK2Mgr=new K2Manager();
StringBuilder strDomainNames=new StringBuilder();
int count=0;

try
{
Domains myDomains=myK2Mgr.GetDomains();
count=myDomains.Count;
foreach(Domain myDomain in myDomains)
{
strDomainNames.Append(myDomain.Name);
strDomainNames.Append('|');
}
return strDomainNames.ToString()+" "+count;
}
catch(Exception ex)
{
ex.ToString();
return ex.Message+" "+count;
}
}

myDomains.Count property returns the exception obj ref not set

Im running a development machine which has k2 studio and k2service manager installed in it (k2.net 2003 SP 3).

My machine connects to a domain server in which ADS is installed and it is configured as my k2server.

I studied the Help doc and searched for the K2server.config file it has the following tags in my local machine.

<K2Server>
<Database/>
<LogDatabase/>
<DefaultSMTPServer/>
</K2Server>

whereas in my domain server/K2server it has appropriate values for all the tags.

the code given by me above, im using it in an asp.net web application, which is in my development machine. I have configured the virtualdirectory security settings as follows

allow iis to manage passwords==false
anonymous access == enabled
anonymous user account: An user account in ADS.

I get the myDomains object returning null reference.Hope someone Can help me solve my problem. Please explain whats happening and why i get this error.

thanks to you all

4 replies

Badge +11
You need to call the 'Login' method of the K2Manager class first.

HTH,
Ockert
Badge +1
thanks and i try the thing
Badge +1
Hi Ockert I performed a search before posting the issue and i got this:

Magic!!