Workflow to archive list items to another list on the same site

• 21 February 2017
  • 12 replies

Badge +3

Dear community,

I found various threads discussing this issues, but unfortunately I am still struggling to get this to work.

I have list tracking status of different items with multiple collumns and items. The list ist continuously growing and I am looking for a way to archive items that are no longer active.

I have created an empty copy of the Main list, and named it Archive.

One of the columns is called Enddate, and I would like to move weekly all items where "Enddatum = Today()-30" (i.e. days) to Archive; and then delete the items from the mainlist.

I tried creating a schedulded site workflow with "Copy Item" where Enddatum equals Today()-30 to Arhive, followed by "delete item". This would not work for me.

I am rather new at Nintex, and would appreciate the support!

Thanks

12 replies

Badge +7

Hi,

this shouldn't be too hard actually. Just create a site-workflow like this:

199706_pastedImage_1.png

At first you have to calculate the date from which on items should be archived and store this in a variable (vArchiveDate)

199707_pastedImage_2.png

Then query the list to get all items, whose end-date is less than the archive date.

199708_pastedImage_3.png

Finally you loop over the list of IDs create a copy of the item and then delete the item.

Instead of deleting every item individually you could also use the "delete multiple items" action, which uses the same filter-setting as the query-list-action:

199709_pastedImage_4.png

Badge +3

Thank you for the quick and extremely helpful answer! 

As I am still a bit confused, I have a follow up question. 

How should I setup "for each" function? That is:

Target collection? 

Store result in? 

Index? 

I assumed that for the query I should create a new workflow variable (vColArchivelds). Hopefully this is correct!

Thank you again :-)

Bests,

Paavo

Badge +7

Hi,

here you go: