Solved

Run workflow based on date trigger

• 14 February 2019
  • 6 replies

Badge +4

SOLUTION and SAMPLE is in the very last post

Hey there,

I am trying to trigger a workflow in Nintex Workflow for Office 365 based on a date field called Form Completion Date. The client is requiring that a trigger runs 1 day before the Form Completion Date value to send an email to the requestor to complete the form.

I cannot work out how to run this trigger based on this field.

I do apologise if my question has been answered but I've searched the forums that relate to my issue exactly and cannot find any discussion on it. I am also quite new to Nintex so any advice of being pushed into the right direction is appreciated or pointed to the post where this has been answered already.

icon

Best answer by callum 20 February 2019, 05:41

View original

6 replies

Badge +9

Hey Xenolcon,

Rather than trying to trigger on the item (you need an event for that to happen, such as Item Modified or Created), I would try somethign like the following:

•  (Optionally) Add a field to your item called "Reminder Sent"
  •  Schedule a Site Workflow to run daily
  •  In the workflow, use the Query List to find all items in your list where
    •  Completion date <= Today's date + 1 day (Use the Date Add action) - Be careful with the time component too if there is one, you may need to tweak this logic.
    •  (Optionally) "Reminder Sent" = false
  • Use a for each loop to then work with each item found, and send the reminder email.
  •  If you created the "Reminder Sent" field, then after you send each reminder email, set the value of this to 'True'

This way each day the workflow will run itself and send reminders for any items that need it. Additionally you will have the protection that if for some reason your workflow fails on a day, you can re-run it later and it will send reminders for all, or if you run it twice it won't re-send emails (since the field is set to false).

Badge +4