Solved

How to connect a custom task form field to a field in the list?

• 20 October 2017
  • 23 replies

Badge +5

I have a task form custom field that I have connected to a list field. It is a user field, which happens to be the next user in the process. But when they fill it out it does not get saved into the sharepoint list. So when I do my lookup for the next user in the process it can't find it and stops. I am new to Nintex. Am I going about this the wrong way?

icon

Best answer by jgabella 25 October 2017, 21:02

View original

23 replies

Badge +4

Hi Joe, it's possible that the connection isn't sticking somehow, depending on the order you used to add the people field to the task form or maybe a bug with it handling people fields. If you can't get it to save into the field properly you might still be able to access the xml of the Nintex form that gets saved in the Form Data on that task item and then use a query xml to get your field value out. I haven't tried it myself but maybe that would work?

Userlevel 6
Badge +12

Hello ‌ - 

Do you already have your person field on the list? If so, you should be able to simply add the list field to your task form rather than trying to connect the form to the list. This makes the user filing out the form write directly to the list rather than to the task form and then to the list.

Badge +5

This does not work either. Very frustrating.

Userlevel 6
Badge +12

Try removing the person field that is on the form under "List Item" and adding in the one from the left side controls (under "List Columns").

Here it is in action:

Create item in list (no changes to the form ootb):

I did not add in a user for [Next User]

This is the Task Form that I created (With classic):

Go back to my list and refresh:

Another task should be assigned to [Next User] (this time with responsive just to be sure it works with each setup) ...

We can see that I am still listed as the [Next User]. Let's change that to good ol' Tester McGee