Document Generation

• 15 June 2017
  • 8 replies

Badge +7

I have seen that Nintex have introduced Document Generation to their workflows which is great.

I'm new to this action, and would like to understand a little more about this, can anyone help?

I have a document workflow that we use to store all our Policies, Procedures, Forms, etc. The aim would be for any user to upload a document for the business and a approval process to the line manager to accept the document.

Also the document would have Metadata attached to it.

Thank you

Claire Allen 

8 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +13

Hey Claire! Have you checked out the documentation on that action? 

Document Generation 

Let me know if you have more questions about Doc Gen

Userlevel 4
Badge +12

Hello Claire,

I understood that you have a workflow that triggers a document approval after a user submits a document with some metadata. Is that right?

For this type of workflow you not necessarily need the document generation feature.

Document generation feature basically lets you insert metadata from a workflow and/or a list into the content of a document and afterwards maybe convert it to PDF or merge a couple of documents into one.

There is a great brief overview of the document generation features here: Nintex Document Generation for SharePoint - YouTube 

It's from SharePoint 2016 but also works the same way in Office 365.

But if you enter the content manually to the document and finally want to approve it you can do this easily with an approval task instead of document generation features.

Hope this helps a bit.

Best regards

Enrico

Badge +7

Hello Enrico,

I would like a document approval, once the document has been uploaded.

What I thought Document Generation might be able to do was enable a user to upload the document direct into a Document Library using a workflow. as mentioned I'm new to this action.