Help with K2 , ASP.Net and SQL server

• 29 January 2006
  • 3 replies
  • 1 view

Badge +1
Hi:

I am new to K2 so I need some clarification about its integeration with ASP.Net and SQL Server.

I have a simple process which has 3 web pages in total and it is working fine. Now I want to know whether there is a way to flood the controls on load with values from a database table(i.e Customer Name, Address, Phone etc from Customer table which is stored in Companies DB and not K2 Database)?.

One more thing... can we have any ASP.Net Web control on a form ..or is it necessary to have K2 web controls only on a form?.

Thanks.

3 replies

Badge +8
can we have any ASP.Net Web control on a form
Yes, since K2.net Smartforms are inherited from ASP.NET forms. If you are using a SmartForm, you may want to put the data captured by your asp.net control into process data - to do this, you can add a hidden K2.net Control (e.g. a textbox), bind it to one of the process datafields, and at runtime populate this hidden K2.net field with the value captured by your ASP.NET control.

Hope this helps...
Neil
Badge +1
Hi NeilM,

Thanks for ur reply. It was really helpful since there isn't too much stuff about K2 and ASP.Net on the Web. Even K2 website doesn't offer that many useful articles about working with K2 and ASP.net + SQL Server database.

Does Microsoft Application Blcok (MAB) work fine with K2?. Do we have the Database connection setup in K2 SmartForms the same way we have in normal ASP.net application .i.e can we have a connection string in Web.config file and then use MAB to work with database?.