Solved

Responsive forms - best way to add "help" text?

• 16 May 2018
  • 8 replies

Badge +2

I'm pretty new to Nintex Forms! How are you all adding the "help" text that would traditionally be added to the column Description in a SharePoint list?

I am building a responsive form that uses a number of panels, each containing a number of controls. I'm using rules to show/hide panels.

In order to add help text into the form, I'm adding Rich Text controls. But this results in what appears to be an editable field for the end user - when they mouse over the Rich Text, the control has a white background against the grey of the panel. I've also been using some Rich Text controls without any text to correctly space the help text to sit under the appropriate control in the row above.

The attached picture hopefully gives more detail! Thanks in advance for any advice.

icon

Best answer by philipplucas 16 May 2018, 17:18

View original

8 replies

Badge +11

Hi Sandra,

I normally use the regular controls description which could be exactly what you are looking for. Just click on your control and the properties window should open at the right side of your window. Enter some text inside the "Description" property and see if it is sufficient for you.

In case your description then shows some HTML tags as well (happened to me before) just double click the control to see all the settings and enter the descirption there.

Cheers

Philipp

Badge +2

Thanks Philipp, I don't know how I'd missed that! Question though, how do I go about putting html into the description, e.g. if I need to have a link in the text?

Userlevel 6
Badge +12

Hi Sandra,

With responsive forms, you are locked down with the formatting options mainly to keep things consistent.  e.g. no matter who is designing the form, the colour scheme/fonts etc will be the same.  However, that doesn't really help you here!