Repeating section data into SharePoint List column

• 7 October 2021
  • 7 replies

Hi all,

I am currently working on a Sharepoint list where i am using nintex forms to help with the functionality.
In this list the user needs to be able to add as many machines that they are using for a job with all the needed info required by the company. For this i decided to use the repeating section within nintex.
In the repeating section i have columns such as Description, Weight, Dimensions, How is the machine powered, etc.
But nintex doesnt have an out of the box solution how this data can be easily stored in the columns of my Sharepoint List.
I have tried looking for a solution on this forum but the answers i got were either out of date or were too complex for me too understand (Total noob to nintex).
Repeating section data gets saved as XML and i want to extract this data and put it into the relevant columns of the Sharepoint List.
Can anyone help me walk through this problem and how i can solve it? (I am using the new responsive designer btw)

Many thanks in advance,

Jared

7 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +13

@JaredA You will need to parse the xml, there is a sample and example here(http://workflowexcellence.com/nintex-workflow-parsing-nintex-forms-repeating-section-in-office-365/). The main difference in new responsive is the names of the field will be guid's like the following(_8eb4d91752f381f525f0dbf08da6a794) rather than a name mentioned in the example.

Hey @leighburke

I'm still having some problems.

-I already connected the repeating list to a multiple lines of text column, so all the regular expressions in the example where he replaces the patterns isn't needed if i'm correct? Or do i still need to do all of that?

-I am also still struggling with using the XPath query's. Like you said the names of the fields will be GUID's but i dont know how to use them in the XPath. If i try to use it like the example (//Item/"GUID here") it doesn't seem to work.