Solved

Sign In/Sign Out Register using NWC & SharePoint

• 21 April 2020
  • 6 replies

In preparation for return to work at Level 3, we have developed a sign-in register for external visitors using their own devices (i.e. QR code scanning) which then opens a NWC form for them to sign in.  The form data is then saved to a SharePoint online list.  This works perfectly, but now I've been asked for additional capability for the external user to be able to sign out when they leave our sites and I'm not sure how to achieve this given that the form data is saved in SharePoint, which external users can't access (via their own devices) to then update the form and sign out.  Help please! I'm very new to NWC so any help appreciated :-) Thanks!

icon

Best answer by Gavin-Adams 22 April 2020, 03:22

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +12

If you have the external user enter their email address on the sign out form,

then use the new data lookup control with a data source / data connection to retrive the sharepoint list item using the email address as a where filter on the data lookup.

Other than email you might have a registration code, or some other identifier.

Hi, thanks for the suggestion. I think I understand what you mean.  So I need to create a separate sign-out form which the user is redirected to after submitting the sign-in form?

The user then needs to enter their email address again on the sign-out form and then follow your instructions from there using the data lookup control to retrieve the SP list item I want to update with a sign-out date/time?

Thanks,

Linda

Userlevel 4
Badge +12

Linda,

you could try a solution with using a query string parameter.

You might still need two forms, a sign in and a sign out.

(or try with one form but with two pages: a sign in and a sign out page and more complex rules logic in the form and conditional logic in the workflow