Sending an email notification prior to the list due-date

• 31 August 2017
  • 7 replies

Badge +1

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Nintex and I'm currently trying to get the following solution going:

A SharePoint list contains certain users, issues and a due date.

I want to design a workflow, which runs daily and checks if a due date for one of the issues is approaching.

If there is an entry in the list which due date is in 3 days, the workflow has to send an email notification to that specific user.

So I would schedule the workflow to run once a day and check the due dates.

This is what I have so far, but it does not seem to work.

The solutions I have found only we're mostly for sharepoint tasks and usually more complex than mine.

It would be great if one of you could pinpoint me into the right direction.

Thanks!

7 replies

Badge +16

have you seen my example here?

what are the parallel actions for?

Userlevel 6
Badge +12

Daniel Abraham‌ - 

Cassy Freeman‌'s example is a good one to follow, I would recommend that you take a look if you can.

I would approach it similar to what you have already, but you need to add a few more actions. First, make sure you are getting the due date from your list, you'll need it to compare to [Today] + 3. Once you have that, simply use a Run If.

It will look something like this:

207218_pastedImage_2.png

Things to keep in mind:

1. This is a SITE WORKLFOW, not a list workflow

2. Date comparisons can be tricky due to the time piece

Hope this helps!

Badge +1

Hey Cassy,

thanks for the reply. I had a look at your example at it seems very similiar to mine. I also checked the workflow-history to see which parts of the workflow does not run properly. It seems like the "For-each"-block does not even start.

This is how its configured:

207349_pastedImage_1.png

AssignedColl is the Collection for the row which contains the person who is supposed to receive the email. AssignedTo is the single variable.