Beginner Javascript and Nintex Forms

• 15 September 2017
  • 16 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +8

All,

Where can I learn about javascript  and then how and where it all fits into my nintex forms?

I'm a total beginner with javascript. I've got some code - which hopefully will do a job for me, but don't know where it's meant to go, is it complete, how it is meant to run, how it could be expanded.

I notice many forum posts refer to javascript, yet it's as if you're already meant to know how it works, and what goes where.

Thanks

Andrew

16 replies

Badge +9

You can start JS learning from here JavaScript Tutorial.

'Nintex Forms' can run 'JavaScript' code directly without any JS reference files (unlike html pages) for all JavaScript basic operations.

You can add your JS code in 'Settings' page.

207626_pastedImage_1.png

In 'Settings' page there is a 'Custom JavaScript' tab will be there, you can put all your code here.

207630_pastedImage_4.png

All the best..Start your JS coding.

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

it's as if you're already meant to know how it works, and what goes where

you're moreless right, but note that javascript is independent of nintex. nintex just utilises it, just like eg. HTML.

in fact, javascript is more about browsers capabilities then about nintex itself. nintex (fortunately) just provides a way you can include your custom javascript into forms to extend its functionality, but the code is run by browser not by nintex.

You can find plenty of resources on javascript learning, either online or paid courses.

however, I'm not aware of one that would focus on javascript+nintex. but I'm quite sure, once you get familiar with javascript, you will quickly understand how to integrate it with nintex.

Userlevel 3
Badge +8

Thanks, all, I'll have to start learing and playing.

Just a little tricky when I need to use it now sad.png

Userlevel 6
Badge +13

A pretty decent place to start learning JS

https://www.codecademy.com/learn

Userlevel 3
Badge +8