Performance Send Notification (large batch)

• 13 August 2014
  • 4 replies

Badge +8

All,

I am having a question regarding the expected performance of a Nintex Workflow that should send +/- 1600 E-mails using the Send Notification action, at a time. Anyone an idea about the expected time frame, performancy issues, best practices...?

Thanks

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +17

That's an amazing feet for a workflow. As a consultant I would answer, Yes, but why?

The Send Notification Action will run in the app pool process to deliver the emails. That directly effects the server in the amount of RAM used by the site. The workflow will process one action at a time making 1600 consecutive workflow actions to take a long time, assuming there is some kind of loop or lookup and one action per email. Emails can be grouped by having multiple people in the TO: line obviously. Another thing to consider, if a server or relay sends out that many emails at one time, it could be blocked by an exchange server thinking it could be spam and seen as unusual content.

I'm sorry to question you with Why? But maybe there is more to the situation?

Badge +8

We are implementing a user friendly way to subscribe/unsubscribe on receiving e-mails through SharePoint (aka that a person can decide on which subjects he/she will receive notifications).

There are reasons SP is the way to go, and we are not using the OOTB alerting etc., and it will partially be build custom. We are only deciding or doubting upon letting Nintex take care of the workflow or building it custom. It is not a SP question; but just a Yes/No Nintex question :-)

Ofcourse we should consider, test and keep things in mind like the passing of variables, sending in smaller batches, etc. in Nintex,... But maybe there would be known issues or best practices that could lead our decision or ease the process of doing so.

Guess checking the server possiblities will be one of our key factors.

Userlevel 7
Badge +17