Starting a Process

• 10 April 2009
  • 9 replies
  • 1 view

Badge +4

Greetings all.

I'm new to this software, but have learned fairly quickly.  I have a few processes designed, but it really would be nice if I could figure out a way to have the process instances be started by the individuals who need to be able to start them... without them having to drill down crazily in the workspace to the workflow server, the process, and the process instances, and start a new one.

The main process I'm interested in starts with the filling out of an InfoPath form.

How can I let users just go to a site, fill out the form, hit submit, and have it automatically start the workflow?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

9 replies

Badge +4

What sort of environment are you running there?

First thought would be to create an InfoPath integrated workflow, that would solve your problem with little to no pain.

Badge +4

Corporate environment - have a working distributed install with workspace and and K2 server on one box, SQL Server and SSRS on another, and SharePoint on a third.

K2 for RS is installed on the database box, but K2 for SharePoint isn't installed on the SharePoint server; it's not being used for workflow development.

I have a workflow with InfoPath integrated events... but the workflow has to be started manually to get to the InfoPath client events that participants have to fill out.

I'd like to understand how to just let anyone start the workflow.

Badge +4

Is your InfoPath form the starting point of the workflow?

If it is you could wrap the K2 api in your own webservice to start a new process instance, or you might want to try using the K2 web services themselves (should be at <bp server>:port/runtimeservices/infopathservice.asmx).

Do you have MOSS or WSS?  If you have MOSS I would recommend using InfoPath Forms Services, it makes things sooooo much easier.

Badge +4