Auto Populate a case number on the form each time a new form is filled out.

• 26 February 2020
  • 5 replies

Badge +3

I have an inspection report that used to be done on a form that had an embossed case number at the top of each form.  I need to figure out a way to autopopulate a number on the nintex form, so that they have a reference when they do write ups and other parts of the inspection.  I am new to Nintex and have researched everything that I could and I can't figure this out.  I need step by step instructions! LOL!

5 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +22
Unfortunately there is no way of doing this without risking duplicates by two users filling in a form at the same time.

Users have done this by creating a calculated value control on the form that looks up the list to find the last item ID and then constructing a unique number from that. The issue here is that the lookup runtime function is only limited to around 1000 returns so any more than 1000 items in the list will stop this from working.

The second method is to generate the number with a workflow by looking up the next number and then incrementining it by one.
The existing number can be shown on the form and after submission a workflow updates the number so the next form will have a new number. The calculated value control will have to be configured to only calculate in new mode and not edit or view.
Badge +3

Since I am really new to Nintex can you show me how to do the second method in the workflow.  I need examples and pictures if possible please.  Thanks so much.

Userlevel 6
Badge +22

Create a List that keeps track of your case number and add the first number to it.

The number column is of type Number.

6628iB84EC3E242E0C0B7.png

Create a List that will hold your Inspection reports.

Create a column called Number to store your Case Number.  Make sure it is data type Number.

6629iD98FB77A214EC418.png

Create a Nintex Form.