Forms: Parent / Child structure using List view Control

• 30 September 2017
  • 7 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +3

parent child‌ forms ‌ ‌

Me

First of all, excuse my english, please.

I'm not an expert, but I would like to share with you my first significant development using Nintex Forms. It could be easy, but I'm very happy with it cool.png cool.png

I have just developed a Parent / Child structure using List view control to show child list inside Parent Form. The idea is to have child data in a independent list in order to manage the elements properly.

I'm not satisfied with the repeating section to do it, because data is not easy to manage later, for example if you want to do tasks for each child element using workflow, or to make a report downloading the lists to Excel file and working with Power Pivot.

My targets are:

- To have the child data only in one place (not in XML in the parent list and the duplicate in a child list)

- To have the parent "primary key" in the child list to have the relationship in the reporting system (in my case Excel and Power Pivot functionality)

- To allow the update of the created child items when you want

- To use workflow to create / manage tasks using the child elements

The example:

In this case the parent child has data about process events in a Chemical Industry, and the child list has actions to do by the staff related with each event in the parent list.

The process:

Let me show my parent form. I use "tabs" to distribute and organize data using the wise advices learned in the forum wink.png

208729_pastedImage_8.png

The red mark shows the "primary key" of the parent element, generated using workflow when the element is created.

The tab "Acciones" has the list view control with the child items. You can see the primary key in the first column:

208730_pastedImage_9.png

The list view control is filtered using a calculated control in the form, who stores the "primary key"